Research Guides: Visual Resources: Home

Visual Resources on the Web

Atlas of Historic New Mexico Maps
This website contains twenty historic maps of New Mexico, annotated with descriptions by the mapmakers and by other people living, working, and exploring in New Mexico at that time.

Digital Bodleian
In an effort to make portions of our collections open to a wide variety of users from around the world for learning, teaching and research, the Bodleian Libraries have been digitizing library content for nearly twenty years. The result is over 120,000 freely available digital objects and at least another 1.5 million images awaiting release.

Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Our whole mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it.

Flickr: The Commons
The key goal of The Commons is to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Library of Congress: Collection with Maps
The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world. The online map collections represents only a small fraction that have been converted to digital form.

Library of Congress: Collections with Photos
Pictorial materials are found in many units of the Library of Congress. The Prints & Photographs Division, alone, holds more than 15 million items, including photographs, prints, drawings and architectural and engineering designs; more than 1 million of the items are available in digital form.

New Mexico Digital Collections
New Mexico Digital Collections is a central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico. A service of the University of New Mexico Libraries, we provide access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state.

The Cell: An Image Library
The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.

Audubon's Birds of America from Original Drawings
Birds of America consists of 435 plates, bound in four volumes. Each plate was hand colored in London under the direction of Audubon and engraver Robert Havell, Jr. The book is referred to as a double elephant folio due to its size. At 21.5 x 39.5 inches and 40 pounds it is one of the largest and heaviest books in the Cincinnati collection.

eMuseum Network
Search over 1.7 million objects from 66 institutions

Rijk Studio

Discover the Possibilities of the masterpieces

An Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.

Biodiversity Heritage Library

Over 100,000 images of the rich diversity of life.

Library Hours

Please visit our public home page for access to our electronic resources.

WINTER INTERIM HOURS:
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: CLOSED

CLOSED: Dec. 21 - Jan 5

Email us: library@sfcc.edu

Contact the Library's Front Desk at (505) 428-1352. Ask a research question at (505) 428-1234.

The library follows the SFCC campus closure schedule. If the campus is closed, the library is also closed.

Contact Us

Circulation: (505) 428-1352

Reference: (505) 428-1234

email: library@sfcc.edu

Follow us on Facebook

Quick Links

Library Visual Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Our video library has been assembled not just with a focus on volume, but also with a discerning eye for quality and relevance. It is the result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study.
Open-I: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine This link opens in a new window
An Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

Educational (and fun) Videos

Visual Resources Near to SFCC

Georgia O'Keeffe Museum
A visit to the O’Keeffe Museum offers insight not only into the artist’s paintings, but also her creative process and the light and landscape that inspired her.

Related Research Guides

Use this Research Guide to get help using the Artstor database.

ARTstor
by Sarah Hood Last Updated Aug 28, 2023 76 views this year